Chicago Marathon

chicago-marathonDate: October
Location: Chicago, United States
Race type: road
Distance: Marathon
Established: 1977
Course records: 2:05:41 (M; 2009-10-11,Samuel Wanjiru); 2:17:18 (F; 2002-10-13, Paula Radcliffe)
Official site:

The Bank of America Chicago Marathon is a major marathon held yearly in Chicago in Cook County, Illinois, United States. Alongside the Boston, New York, London and Berlin Marathons, it is one of the five World Marathon Majors.

It has been run every year since the September 25, 1977 running of the first race under the original name the Mayor Daley Marathon drew a field of 4200 runners. It is among the fastest growing marathon road races in the world, due in part to its largely fast and flat course which facilitates the pursuit of personal records and world record performances. The race has achieved its elite status among marathons by developing relationship with sponsors who provide prize money to lure elite runners who have produced American and world record performances.

There is no qualifying time to participate in the Chicago Marathon, but only runners who finish within 6½ hours are officially timed. The race is limited to 45,000 runners on a first-come, first-served basis. Although the race has limited registration, exceptions include elite runners and charity representatives. Increasingly, local, national and global charities and humanitarian organizations encourage sponsored participation in the event as a means of fund raising.

The 2008 marathon featured a new sponsor name in Bank of America, (as Bank of America acquired LaSalle Bank in 2007). The October 10, 2010 running will be the 33rd Anniversary running of the race.