US Open 2010 Final: Rafael Nadal Dream Win Over Novak Djokovic and Cemented the World No 1’s Place

us-open-2010-final-rafael-nadal-dream-win-over-novak-djokovic-and-cemented-the-world-no-1s-placeRafael Nadal hailed a dream win over Novak Djokovic in the US Open 2010 men’s final which completed his career grand slam and cemented the world No 1’s place in history. He also joins tennis greats Rod Laver, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer as the fourth man to win three consecutive Grand Slam championships in the Open Era.

The match, filled with fantastic shotmaking by both men and interrupted by a thunderstorm a day after it was postponed by rain, ended with a 6-4, 5-7, 6-4, 6-2 scoreline.

“First thing, congratulations, Nole and his team, for a great tournament. You are a great player, and you will win this trophy soon, I am sure of it,” Rafa said to his friend and opponent. “It is more than I ever dreamed (to win the US Open). It is amazing to be here in this final for me. Just to get to the final was amazing, and now to have the trophy, it is unbelievable.”

‘Nole’ (who was also fighting to win his first US Open title) was all smiles at the trophy ceremony. “It’s a great honour to be here again [in the final] after three years,” Djokovic said “I would like to congratulate Rafa and his team for an amazing tournament.

“He is the best player in the world and he absolutely deserves this title,” he continued. “He has the capabilities already now to become the best player ever,” Djokovic said. “I think he’s playing the best tennis that I’ve ever seen him play on hard courts. He has improved his serve drastically — the speed, the accuracy. And, of course, his baseline (game) is as good as ever.”

According to, World No. 1 Rafael Nadal of Spain, the reigning French Open and Wimbledon champion, will be the top seed at the 2010 US Open in men’s singles. The 2010 US Open will be played at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., August 30-September 12. The women’s seeds will be announced tomorrow upon completion of the Rogers Cup in Montreal.

Nadal, an eight-time Grand Slam champion who is seeking his first US Open title, is the No. 1 seed at the US Open for the second time in three years. He will be followed by No. 2 Roger Federer of Switzerland, a five-time US Open champion; No. 3 Novak Djokovic of Serbia, the 2008 Australian Open champion (and 2007 US Open runner-up); and No. 4 Andy Murray of Great Britain, the 2008 US Open runner-up.

After missing much of 2009 with injuries and being unable to defend his 2008 French Open and Wimbledon titles, Nadal, 24, has won five titles this year, including his fifth French Open and second Wimbledon titles. Nadal will be seeking his first US Open title, which would make him just the seventh man to complete the career Grand Slam. Nadal has reached the US Open semifinals in each of the last two years.

For 2010, the US Open followed the ATP World Tour rankings to determine the men’s singles seeds. This is the ninth consecutive year that the US Open has seeded 32 players in both singles events.

The singles draws for the 2010 US Open will be revealed live on the US Open Draw Announcement Special on ESPN2, Thursday, August 26, at 12 p.m. ET. Chris McKendry will host the one-hour show from Bristol, Conn., along with U.S. Fed Cup Captain Mary Joe Fernandez and Brad Gilbert. U.S. Davis Cup Captain Patrick McEnroe will lead the on-site coverage from the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y.

2010 US Open Men’s Singles Seeds

1. Rafael Nadal, Spain
2. Roger Federer, Switzerland
3. Novak Djokovic, Serbia
4. Andy Murray, Great Britain

5. Robin Soderling, Sweden
6. Nikolay Davydenko, Russia
7. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic
8. Fernando Verdasco, Spain

9. Andy Roddick, United States
10. David Ferrer, Spain
11. Marin Cilic, Croatia
12. Mikhail Youzhny, Russia
13. Jurgen Melzer, Austria
14. Nicolas Almagro, Spain
15. Ivan Ljubicic, Croatia
16. Marcos Baghdatis, Cyprus

17. Gael Monfils, France
18. John Isner, United States
19. Mardy Fish, United States
20. Sam Querrey, United States
21. Albert Montanes, Spain
22. Juan Carlos Ferrero, Spain
23. Feliciano Lopez, Spain
24. Ernests Gulbis, Latvia
25. Stanislas Wawrinka, Switzerland
26. Thomaz Bellucci, Brazil
27. Fernando Gonzalez, Chile
28. Radek Stepanek, Czech Republic
29. Philipp Kohlschreiber, Germany
30. Juan Monaco, Argentina
31. David Nalbandian, Argentina
32. Lleyton Hewitt, Australia

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.