Hannah Montana Forever Background

hannah-montana-forever-backgroundHannah Montana Forever is the soundtrack album for the fourth and last season of the Disney Channel original series Hannah Montana, which first aired in July 2010. In the television series and film, American recording artist and actress Miley Cyrus portrays Miley Stewart, a girl with a secret double life as pop star Hannah Montana. Cyrus performs all of the soundtrack’s eleven tracks while being credited to Hannah Montana. The album was released on October 15, 2010 by Walt Disney Records. Executed by different songwriters and composers, the soundtrack ranges in musical composition and lyrical themes. Three tracks on Hannah Montana Forever are duets that feature Iyaz, Sheryl Crow, and Billy Ray Cyrus.

Hannah Montana Forever Background: The opening track “Gonna Get This”, a duet with British Virgin Islander Iyaz, was written by Niclas Molinder, Joacim Persson, Johan Alkenas, and Drew Ryan Scott. Iyaz claimed he listened to Cyrus’ music very often and that Hannah Montana was among his favorite television series with others from Disney Channel. “I’ve been watching the show for a very long time, and finally got the opportunity to do a song with Miley”, he said. “Gonna Get This” was recorded in April 2010 very rapidly, according to Iyaz, because of his appearance on an episode of Hannah Montana. At first, he arrived to the studio not knowing what to expect and became hesitant but in the end could not believe they “pulled it off”. Iyaz described “Gonna Get This” as a track with an edge, claiming Cyrus added her usual signature style while he put an “island twist” on it. The track leaked into the Internet in July 2010, entitled “This Boy, That Girl”.

Toby Gad contributed to the soundtrack by co-writing “Ordinary Girl”, “Que Será”, and “Are You Ready”. “Are You Ready” was written by Gad, BC Jean, and Lyrica Anderson. The song was recorded for Hannah Montana 3 and leaked on the Internet in November 2008, along with tracks from Hannah Montana 3, yet, was not included in the soundtrack. “Kiss It Goodbye” is a cover version of Polish singer Ewa Farna’s Czech-language song “Kdo Dá Víc” (English: “Who Gives More”) from her fifth studio album Virtuální (English: Virtual) (2009). A duet with Sheryl Crow, guest star on the episode “It’s the End of Jake as We Know It”, titled “Need a Little Love” was solely penned by Jaime Houston. “Love That Lets Go” is a duet with Billy Ray Cyrus (who portrays Miley’s father, Robbie Ray Stewart, on Hannah Montana and is Cyrus’ real father) was composed by Adam Anders and Nikki Hassman. “I’m Still Good” and “Been Here All Along” were written by Jennie Lurie, Aris Archontis, and Chen Neeman. Hannah Montana Forever will first be released on October 15, 2010 in Germany on October 19, 2010 in the United States.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.